What is the ISEE?

The ISEE is most often used for admission into independent schools. The ISEE has three different levels, the Upper level test which is administered to student applying for grade 9 through 12, the Middle level test which is administered to students applying for grades 7 and 8, and the Lower level test which is administered to students applying for grades 5 and 6. Each level consists of five parts: an essay, a verbal section, a reading comprehension section, a quantitative section, and a mathematical achievement section. The essay is not scored, but is sent to schools as a writing sample.

How is the ISEE structured?

The ISEE has a writing sample and four multiple-choice sections. Each multiple choice question has 4 answer choices. The writing sample requires students to respond to a topic statement and support their positions using specific examples from personal experience, current events, history, or literature. The test sections are organized as follows:

Section # of Questions Time Allotted
Verbal Reasoning 40 questions 20 minutes
Quantitative Reasoning 37 questions 35 minutes
Reading Comprehension 36 questions 35 minutes
Mathematical Achievement 47 questions 40 minutes
Essay 1 prompt 30 minutes

When is the Test Offered?

The ISEE has no official testing dates. Students can sign up to take the exam either at a consortium school, at the individual independent school, or at a testing office, depending on where they plan to apply. The best time to take the exam is 12-18 months before you want to begin school. You are only allowed to take the ISEE exam once every 6 months.

How do I Register?

To register online for the ISEE, visit: http://erblearn.org/parents/admission/isee/registration. There is a face to take the exam.